Spirit and Dust

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description

   Fans of Veronica Mars and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will love Daisy Goodnight--she can speak to the dead. It's not the result of a head injury or some near-death experience. She was just born that way. And she's really good at it. Good enough to help the police solve the occasional homicide.   But helping the local authorities clear cold cases is one thing. Being whisked out of chemistry class by the FBI and flown to the scene of a murder/kidnapping in Minnesota?   That's the real deal.   Before the promotion can go to Daisy's head, she's up to her neck in trouble. The spirits are talking, and they're terrified. There's a real living girl in danger. And when Daisy is kidnapped by a crime boss with no scruples about using magic--and Daisy--to get what he wants, it looks like hers is the next soul on the line.

[ STAR ] "You can't really beat a story that has hijinks, romance, and...the bones of Sue the T-rex."-- The Bulletin

[ STAR ] "This is one of the best YA novels of the year."-- School Library Journal , starred review

"This likable, uber-competent heroine's adventure combines elements of paranormal romance and fast-paced thriller."-- Kirkus Reviews

"Clement-Moore delivers some lovely comic zingers in a romance."-- Booklist

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7990153e-c7b1-048d-7f53-ac4aaa6666b0
Grouping Title spirit and dust
Grouping Author clement moore rosemary
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-15 04:09:23AM
Last Indexed 2019-06-15 04:51:31AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 15
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.6
author Rosemary Clement-Moore
author_display Rosemary Clement-Moore
detailed_location_lafayette Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

Fans of Veronica Mars and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will love Daisy Goodnight—she can speak to the dead. It's not the result of a head injury or some near-death experience. She was just born that way. And she's really good at it. Good enough to help the police solve the occasional homicide.
But helping the local authorities clear cold cases is one thing. Being whisked out of chemistry class by the FBI and flown to the scene of a murder/kidnapping in Minnesota? That's the real deal.
Before the promotion can go to Daisy's head, she's up to her neck in trouble. The spirits are talking, and they're terrified. There's a real living girl in danger. And when Daisy is kidnapped by a crime boss with no scruples about using magic—and Daisy—to get what he wants, it looks like hers is the next soul on the line.

[STAR] "You can't really beat a story that has hijinks, romance, and...the bones of Sue the T-rex."—The Bulletin

[STAR] "This is one of the best YA novels of the year."—School Library Journal, starred review

"This likable, uber-competent heroine's adventure combines elements of paranormal romance and fast-paced thriller."—Kirkus Reviews

"Clement-Moore delivers some lovely comic zingers in a romance."—Booklist


From the Hardcover edition.
format_category_lafayette eBook
format_lafayette eBook
id 7990153e-c7b1-048d-7f53-ac4aaa6666b0
isbn 9780375982712
item_details overdrive:9ceeb24c-e2b3-44c2-9264-ff40d4e69695|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_lafayette
last_indexed 2019-06-15T10:51:31.688Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
primary_isbn 9780375982712
publishDate 2013
record_details overdrive:9ceeb24c-e2b3-44c2-9264-ff40d4e69695|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_lafayette
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9ceeb24c-e2b3-44c2-9264-ff40d4e69695 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Texas Gothic
series_with_volume Texas Gothic|
title_display Spirit and Dust
title_full Spirit and Dust
title_short Spirit and Dust
title_sub
topic_facet Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature
More Details
ISBN:
9780375982712
Accelerated Reader:
MG+
Level 5.6, 15 Points