Lafayette Library is closed until further notice. Outdoor book drops are open. No fines are charged on overdue items. Place holds for curbside pickup when using a Lafayette library card or new temporary card. View Library updates.

Queen of the conquered

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description
An engrossing tale of colonialism, conquest and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for readers of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri. O n the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge. But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim. Praise for Queen of the Conquered : "A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo ." --Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild "The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." -- NPR Books "Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." -- Library Journal
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc9c52485-c0f2-1e06-6222-9dad13e0521c
Grouping Titlequeen of the conquered
Grouping Authorcallender kacen
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-07-10 03:54:08AM
Last Indexed2020-07-09 06:46:04AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorCallender, Kacen,
author_displayKacen Callender
available_at_lafayetteLafayette Public Library
detailed_location_lafayetteBoulder Main NEW Sci Fi/Fantasy
Broomfield New Fiction
Lafayette General Fiction
Longmont New Book Shelf - Fiction
Louisville New Adult Fiction
Loveland Adult Fiction - Sci Fi & Fantasy
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Sigourney Rose is the only surviving daughter of a noble lineage on the islands of Hans Lollik. When she was a child, her family was murdered by the islands' colonizers, who have massacred and enslaved generations of her people -- and now, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge. When the childless king of the islands declares that he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney uses her ability to read and control minds to manipulate her way onto the royal island and into the ranks of the ruling colonizers. But when she arrives, prepared to fight for control of all the islands, Sigourney finds herself the target of a dangerous, unknown magic. Someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. As the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim."--
format_category_lafayetteAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_lafayetteBook
eAudiobook
eBook
idc9c52485-c0f2-1e06-6222-9dad13e0521c
isbn9780316454926
9780316454933
9781549155543
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d4d8e241-8028-4182-8d6a-60b11f3cd6f5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b2923718x.i44919670Lafayette General FictionCal1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 28, 2020laspa
ils:.b2923718x.i44921573Louisville New Adult FictionSF CAL1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 30, 2020lsfna
ils:.b2923718x.i45084014Broomfield New FictionF Calle1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 11, 2020mdfna
ils:.b2923718x.i44946570Longmont New Book Shelf - FictionFICTION CALLENDER, K.1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 16, 2020lgfcx
ils:.b2923718x.i44900971Boulder Main NEW Sci Fi/FantasyFANTASY Call1falsefalseDue Jul 20, 2020Feb 10, 2020bmfsx
ils:.b2923718x.i44982549Loveland Adult Fiction - Sci Fi & FantasyCallender, K.1falsefalseDue Jul 28, 2020May 04, 2020lvffa
overdrive:098cfd38-241f-4c67-8862-deeabe967631-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_lafayettepaperback book
last_indexed2020-07-09T12:46:04.21Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_lafayetteCal
local_time_since_added_lafayetteYear
owning_library_lafayetteLafayette Public Library
owning_location_lafayetteLafayette Public Library
primary_isbn9780316454933
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:d4d8e241-8028-4182-8d6a-60b11f3cd6f5eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHachette Audio2019
ils:.b2923718xBookBooksFirst edition.EnglishOrbit, 2019.391 pages : map ; 21 cm.
overdrive:098cfd38-241f-4c67-8862-deeabe967631eBookeBookEnglishOrbit2019
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_lafayette
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d4d8e241-8028-4182-8d6a-60b11f3cd6f5-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2923718x.i44919670On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b2923718x.i44921573On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse128, 129, 3, 131, 132, 133, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 35, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b2923718x.i45084014On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b2923718x.i44946570On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b2923718x.i44900971Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse128, 129, 131, 132, 133, 135, 136, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b2923718x.i44982549Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse1, 2, 3, 131, 4, 5, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125
overdrive:098cfd38-241f-4c67-8862-deeabe967631-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesIslands of blood and storm
series_with_volumeIslands of blood and storm|1
subject_facetFantasy fiction
Mental suggestion -- Fiction
Orphans -- Fiction
Revenge -- Fiction
title_displayQueen of the conquered
title_fullQueen of the Conquered
Queen of the conquered / Kacen Callender
title_shortQueen of the conquered
topic_facetFantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Mental suggestion
Orphans
Revenge
More Details
ISBN:
9780316454933
9780316454926
9781549155543