The winter horses

Book Cover
Average Rating
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions

From Philip Kerr, the  New York Times  bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of  The Book Thief,   Milkweed , and  The   Boy in the Striped Pajamas . It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets--for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park. Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings--everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends--until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good. Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses--and herself.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ccc074c9-54e1-8d39-3102-c6fd6e1788ea
full_title winter horses
author kerr philip
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-21 03:55:20AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.1
auth_author2 Langton, James.
author Philip Kerr
author2-role Langton, James., hoopla digital.
author_display Kerr, Philip
detailed_location_lafayette Lafayette Children's Fiction, Online OverDrive Collection
display_description "Kalinka, a Ukrainian Jewish girl on the run from the Nazis, finds unlikely help from two rare Przewalski horses"--
format_category_lafayette Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_lafayette Book, eAudiobook
id ccc074c9-54e1-8d39-3102-c6fd6e1788ea
isbn 9780385755436, 9781494593506
item_details hoopla:MWT11359333||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||||Available Online||||, ils:.b21877415|.i36334844|Lafayette Children's Fiction|Ker|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 10, 2018|Feb 24, 2018|lafgj||, overdrive:7709d624-f520-479e-8798-ab75c219ca78|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_lafayette , hardcover book
lexile_score 930
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_lafayette Ker
owning_library_lafayette Lafayette Public Library
owning_location_lafayette Kids Collection, Lafayette Public Library
primary_isbn 9780385755436
publishDate 2014, 2015
record_details hoopla:MWT11359333|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2015.|1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 12 min.)) : digital., ils:.b21877415|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|[2014]|278 pages : illustration ; 22 cm., overdrive:7709d624-f520-479e-8798-ab75c219ca78|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media, Inc.|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_lafayette ils:.b21877415|.i36334844|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true|136,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,129,8,128,9,10,131,11,12,133,13,132,135,17,19,18,20,34,35,38,39,36,37,42,43,40,41,46,45,68,69,70,71,67,76,77,72,73,74,75,85,84,86,81,80,82,93,92,95,100,98,99,96,97,110,108,109,106,105,119,118,117,115,114,113,112,127,126,125|||, overdrive:7709d624-f520-479e-8798-ab75c219ca78|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Fiction, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Ukraine -- Juvenile fiction, Horses -- Fiction, Jews -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Przewalski's horse -- Fiction, Survival -- Fiction, Ukraine -- History -- German occupation, 1941-1944 -- Fiction, Ukraine -- History -- German occupation, 1941-1944 -- Juvenile fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Ukraine -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The winter horses
title_full The Winter Horses, The winter horses / Philip Kerr, The winter horses [electronic resource] / Philip Kerr
title_short The winter horses
topic_facet Historical Fiction, History, Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), Horses, Jews, Przewalski's horse, Survival, World War, 1939-1945, Young Adult Fiction
More Details
Accelerated Reader:
Level 6.1, 10 Points
Lexile measure: