The Lafayette Library is open daily. View regular hours and current COVID protocols.

--

Your account now requires a PIN at login. By default, this is the last 4 digits of your phone number and can be reset for security. If you have trouble accessing your account, call the Library at 303-661-1161.

The last one: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Station Eleven and The Passage comes a dazzling and unsettling novel of psychological suspense. In Alexandra Oliva's thrilling fiction debut, survival is the name of the game, as the line blurs between reality TV and reality itself--and one woman's mind and body are pushed to the limit. She wanted an adventure. She never imagined it would go this far. It begins with a reality TV show.Twelve contestants are sent into the woods to face challenges that will test the limits of their endurance. While they are out there, something terrible happens--but how widespread is the destruction, and has it occurred naturally or is it man-made? Cut off from society, the contestants know nothing of it. When one of them--a young woman the show's producers call Zoo--stumbles across the devastation, she can imagine only that it is part of the game. Alone and disoriented, Zoo is heavy with doubt regarding the life--and husband--she left behind, but she refuses to quit. Staggering countless miles across unfamiliar territory, Zoo must summon all her survival skills--and learn new ones as she goes. But as her emotional and physical reserves dwindle, she grasps that the real world might have been altered in terrifying ways--and her ability to parse the charade will be either her triumph or her undoing. Sophisticated and provocative, The Last One is a novel that forces us to confront the role that media plays in our perception of what is real: how readily we cast our judgments, how easily we are manipulated. Advance praise for The Last One: "The Last One seamlessly melds two of our contemporary obsessions--the threat of global catastrophe and the staged drama of reality TV--into a fiercely imagined tale of the human psyche under stress. This is an uncompromising, thought-provoking debut."--Justin Cronin. "Haunting, moving, and remarkable, Alexandra Oliva's debut novel is clever in its concept and gripping in its delivery. This propulsive book is for everyone who ever thought reality television signaled the end of the world."--Karen Joy Fowler. "Taut, tense, and at times almost unbearably real, The Last One is both a compelling read, and a terrifyingly believable evocation of survival against the odds."--Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood. "Page-turning and deeply unsettling."--Rosamund Lupton, internationally bestselling author of Sister"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDce09fb6f-415f-9ce4-8370-b4efa0579703
Grouping Titlelast one
Grouping Authoralexandra oliva
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-24 18:41:43PM
Last Indexed2022-09-27 02:36:07AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Chamberlain, Mike
Zanzarella, Nicol
author
Oliva, Alexandra
author2-role
Chamberlain, Mike
Zanzarella, Nicol
author_display
Oliva, Alexandra
available_at_lafayette
Lafayette Public Library
detailed_location_lafayette
Boulder Main Adult Fiction
Boulder Reynolds Staff Picks
Lafayette Audio Books
Lafayette General Fiction
Longmont Adult Fiction
Louisville Adult Fiction
Loveland Adult Fiction
display_description
"For readers of Station Eleven and The Passage comes a dazzling and unsettling novel of psychological suspense. In Alexandra Oliva's thrilling fiction debut, survival is the name of the game, as the line blurs between reality TV and reality itself--and one woman's mind and body are pushed to the limit. She wanted an adventure. She never imagined it would go this far. It begins with a reality TV show.Twelve contestants are sent into the woods to face challenges that will test the limits of their endurance. While they are out there, something terrible happens--but how widespread is the destruction, and has it occurred naturally or is it man-made? Cut off from society, the contestants know nothing of it. When one of them--a young woman the show's producers call Zoo--stumbles across the devastation, she can imagine only that it is part of the game. Alone and disoriented, Zoo is heavy with doubt regarding the life--and husband--she left behind, but she refuses to quit. Staggering countless miles across unfamiliar territory, Zoo must summon all her survival skills--and learn new ones as she goes. But as her emotional and physical reserves dwindle, she grasps that the real world might have been altered in terrifying ways--and her ability to parse the charade will be either her triumph or her undoing. Sophisticated and provocative, The Last One is a novel that forces us to confront the role that media plays in our perception of what is real: how readily we cast our judgments, how easily we are manipulated. Advance praise for The Last One: "The Last One seamlessly melds two of our contemporary obsessions--the threat of global catastrophe and the staged drama of reality TV--into a fiercely imagined tale of the human psyche under stress. This is an uncompromising, thought-provoking debut."--Justin Cronin. "Haunting, moving, and remarkable, Alexandra Oliva's debut novel is clever in its concept and gripping in its delivery. This propulsive book is for everyone who ever thought reality television signaled the end of the world."--Karen Joy Fowler. "Taut, tense, and at times almost unbearably real, The Last One is both a compelling read, and a terrifyingly believable evocation of survival against the odds."--Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood. "Page-turning and deeply unsettling."--Rosamund Lupton, internationally bestselling author of Sister"--
format_category_lafayette
Audio Books
Books
format_lafayette
Audio CD
Book
id
ce09fb6f-415f-9ce4-8370-b4efa0579703
isbn
9780147522641
9781101965085
9781101966839
itype_lafayette
CD audio
hardcover book
paperback book
last_indexed
2022-09-27T08:36:07.891Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_lafayette
Oli
owning_library_lafayette
Lafayette Public Library
owning_location_lafayette
Lafayette Public Library
primary_isbn
9781101965085
publishDate
2016
publisher
Ballantine Books
Random House Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Psychological fiction
Reality television programs -- Fiction
Single women -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display
The last one : a novel
title_full
The last one : a novel / Alexandra Oliva
The last one [compact disc] : a novel / Alexandra Oliva
title_short
The last one
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Reality television programs
Single women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b24957148.i33175238Longmont Adult FictionFICTION OLIVA, A.1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 08, 2022lgfca
ils:.b24957148.i3322853xLouisville Adult FictionFIC OLI1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 28, 2022lsfca
ils:.b24957148.i41380332Loveland Adult FictionOliva, A.1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 22, 2021lvfca
ils:.b24957148.i33144503Boulder Main Adult FictionF Oliv1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 12, 2022bmfca
ils:.b24957148.i36519340Lafayette General FictionOli1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 20, 2022lafga
ils:.b24957148.i44939085Boulder Reynolds Staff PicksF Oliv STAFF PICKS1falsefalseDue Oct 8, 2022Sep 08, 2022bgsta
ils:.b25869620.i36462068Lafayette Audio BooksOli1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 27, 2022laafa

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24957148BookBooksFirst editionEnglishBallantine Books2016294 pages ; 24 cm
ils:.b25869620Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishRandom House Audio201610 sound discs (12 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.

scoping_details_lafayette

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24957148.i33175238On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 137, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 87, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b24957148.i3322853xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse128, 129, 3, 131, 132, 133, 135, 8, 136, 9, 137, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 35, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 87, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b24957148.i41380332On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse1, 2, 3, 131, 4, 5, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 137, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 87, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 112, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125
ils:.b24957148.i33144503On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse128, 129, 131, 132, 133, 135, 136, 137, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b24957148.i36519340On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 137, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 87, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b24957148.i44939085Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse128, 129, 131, 132, 133, 135, 136, 137, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b25869620.i36462068On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 137, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 87, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
More Details
ISBN:
9781101965085
9780147522641
9781101966839