Under enemy colors: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Berkley Books,
Pub. Date:
2008, c2007.
Language:
English
Description
A sweeping novel of maritime mutiny set against the backdrop of the French Revolution that evokes such masters as Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell. At the time of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers, Charles Saunders Hayden, is a young lieutenant, the son of an English father and a French mother. His abilities and his loyalty to the king of England are beyond dispute, yet his career seems doomed by his "mixed" heritage and lack of political connections. Consequently, Hayden is assigned to an aging frigate, the Themis , under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, a man known as "Faint Hart" throughout the service. As the Themis takes to sea to harass the enemy, the disaffection of the crew begins to boil over into acts of violence, and the lieutenant finds himself caught between his superior and a crew pushed toward mutiny. A revolution at sea ensues, and Hayden is wrenchingly torn between honor and duty, as the magnificent Royal Navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power. This is a novel that satisfies on all levels, and will be loved by a wide range of readers: Patrick O'Brian's adoring literary following, as well as readers who love Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Jeff Shaara. Its scenes of maritime warfare match, and even surpass, O'Brian's for majesty and drama.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e181646a-9716-7760-051c-075f41ebab00
Grouping Title under enemy colors
Grouping Author russell sean
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-10 20:02:02PM
Last Indexed 2019-08-19 04:13:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Vance, Simon.
author Russell, Sean.
author2-role Vance, Simon.
hoopla digital.
author_display Russell, Sean
available_at_lafayette Lafayette Public Library
detailed_location_lafayette Lafayette General Fiction
display_description In the midst of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers is young Lieutenant Charles Saunders Hayden. He takes to sea in the Themis under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, derisively known as "Faint Hart," and finds himself caught between his superior officer and a crew pushed toward mutiny.
format_category_lafayette Books
format_lafayette Book
id e181646a-9716-7760-051c-075f41ebab00
isbn 9780425223628
9781481548854
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT10027984 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10027984 Available Online
ils:.b25787925 .i36285304 Lafayette General Fiction Rus 1 false false On Shelf lafga
itype_lafayette paperback book
last_indexed 2019-08-19T10:13:30.071Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_lafayette Rus
owning_library_lafayette Lafayette Public Library
owning_location_lafayette Lafayette Public Library
primary_isbn 9780425223628
publishDate 2006
2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT10027984 eAudiobook Audio Books Unabridged. English Blackstone Audio, Inc. , 2006. 1 online resource (1 audio file (15hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b25787925 Book Books English Berkley Books, 2008, c2007. 496 p. : ill., map ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_lafayette
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25787925 .i36285304 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
series Charles Hayden novels
series_with_volume Charles Hayden novels|1
subject_facet Adventure fiction
Great Britain -- History -- 1789-1820 -- Fiction
Great Britain. -- Royal Navy -- Fiction
Great Britain. -- Royal Navy -- History -- 18th century -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Mutiny -- 18th century -- Fiction
Sea stories
title_display Under enemy colors
title_full Under enemy colors / S. Thomas Russell
Under enemy colors : a novel [electronic resource] / S. Thomas Russell
title_short Under enemy colors
title_sub a novel
topic_facet History
Mutiny
More Details
ISBN:
9780425223628
9781481548854