Under enemy colors: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Berkley Books,
Pub. Date:
2008, c2007.
Language:
English
Description
A sweeping novel of maritime mutiny set against the backdrop of the French Revolution that evokes such masters as Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell. At the time of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers, Charles Saunders Hayden, is a young lieutenant, the son of an English father and a French mother. His abilities and his loyalty to the king of England are beyond dispute, yet his career seems doomed by his "mixed" heritage and lack of political connections. Consequently, Hayden is assigned to an aging frigate, the Themis , under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, a man known as "Faint Hart" throughout the service. As the Themis takes to sea to harass the enemy, the disaffection of the crew begins to boil over into acts of violence, and the lieutenant finds himself caught between his superior and a crew pushed toward mutiny. A revolution at sea ensues, and Hayden is wrenchingly torn between honor and duty, as the magnificent Royal Navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power. This is a novel that satisfies on all levels, and will be loved by a wide range of readers: Patrick O'Brian's adoring literary following, as well as readers who love Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Jeff Shaara. Its scenes of maritime warfare match, and even surpass, O'Brian's for majesty and drama.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe181646a-9716-7760-051c-075f41ebab00
Grouping Titleunder enemy colors
Grouping Authorrussell sean
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-15 20:02:02PM
Last Indexed2019-11-17 05:06:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Vance, Simon.
authorRussell, Sean.
author2-roleVance, Simon.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRussell, Sean
available_at_lafayetteLafayette Public Library
detailed_location_lafayetteLafayette General Fiction
display_descriptionIn the midst of the French Revolution, one of Britain's most skillful naval officers is young Lieutenant Charles Saunders Hayden. He takes to sea in the Themis under the command of Captain Josiah Hart, derisively known as "Faint Hart," and finds himself caught between his superior officer and a crew pushed toward mutiny.
format_category_lafayetteBooks
format_lafayetteBook
ide181646a-9716-7760-051c-075f41ebab00
isbn9780425223628
9781982482497
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT10027984Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10027984?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b25787925.i36285304Lafayette General FictionRus1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 01, 2019lafga
itype_lafayettepaperback book
last_indexed2019-11-17T12:06:42.834Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_lafayetteRus
owning_library_lafayetteLafayette Public Library
owning_location_lafayetteLafayette Public Library
primary_isbn9780425223628
publishDate2006
2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT10027984eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2006.1 online resource (1 audio file (15hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b25787925BookBooksEnglishBerkley Books, 2008, c2007.496 p. : ill., map ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_lafayette
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25787925.i36285304On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 112, 113, 114, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
seriesCharles Hayden novels
series_with_volumeCharles Hayden novels|1
subject_facetAdventure fiction
Great Britain -- History -- 1789-1820 -- Fiction
Great Britain. -- Royal Navy -- Fiction
Great Britain. -- Royal Navy -- History -- 18th century -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Mutiny -- 18th century -- Fiction
Sea stories
title_displayUnder enemy colors
title_fullUnder enemy colors / S. Thomas Russell
Under enemy colors : a novel [electronic resource] / S. Thomas Russell
title_shortUnder enemy colors
title_suba novel
topic_facetHistory
Mutiny
More Details
ISBN:
9780425223628
9781982482497