The Lafayette Library is open daily. View regular hours and current COVID protocols.

--

Your account now requires a PIN at login. By default, this is the last 4 digits of your phone number and can be reset for security. If you have trouble accessing your account, call the Library at 303-661-1161.

Red, White, and Whole
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
HarperCollins 2021
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Checked Out
Description

Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

* Walter Award Winner * New England Book Award Winner * An NCTE Notable Verse Novel * Golden Kite Award Winner * Crystal Kite Award Winner * Goodreads Choice Nominee * A Washington Post Best Children's Book of the Year * An SLJ Best Book of the Year * A BookPage Best Book of the Year * An NYPL Best Book of the Year * A Mighty Girl's Best Book of the Year * An ILA Notable Book for a Global Society * A Bank Street Best Book of the Year *Junior Library Guild Selection * A Judy Lopez Memorial Award Honor *

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she's the only Indian American student, and home, with her family's traditions and holidays. But Reha's parents don't understand why she's conflicted—they only notice when Reha doesn't meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma. Although their names are linked—Reha means "star" and Punam means "moon"—they are a universe apart.

Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick.

Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she can't stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. She'll be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Amma's life.

From Indies Introduce author Rajani LaRocca comes a radiant story about the ties that bind and how to go on in the face of unthinkable loss. This is the perfect next read for fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Other Editions and Formats
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Rajani LaRocca. (2021). Red, White, and Whole. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Rajani LaRocca. 2021. Red, White, and Whole. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Rajani LaRocca, Red, White, and Whole. HarperCollins, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Rajani LaRocca. Red, White, and Whole. HarperCollins, 2021.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Lafayette Public Library00
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
45a384b4-32d6-fcca-88ce-c55195d74a54
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 08, 2021 19:52:31
Date Updated:
Jun 08, 2021 19:52:31
Last Metadata Check:
Nov 29, 2022 10:35:07
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 29, 2022 10:35:07
Last Availability Check:
Nov 29, 2022 10:35:08
Last Availability Change:
Nov 28, 2022 20:04:02
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Dec 02, 2022 01:38:19

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Red White and Whole
crossRefId
5443279
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/05C/79A/EE/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/05C/79A/EE/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780063047440
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B0881SF7BX
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780063047440
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Rajani LaRocca
id
05c79aee-55b5-449f-9a73-fab97cf713d8
title
Red, White, and Whole
starRating
4.9
dateAdded
2021-06-04T13:09:20.747-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=114&titleID=5443279
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Front Range Downloadable Library (CO)
          • id: 1100

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: RedWhiteandWhole_9780063047440_5443279
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 835218
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780063047440
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 23
            • type: Printing
            • value: 23
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 02/02/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=05c79aee-55b5-449f-9a73-fab97cf713d8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: RedWhiteandWhole_5443279
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B0881SF7BX
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 02/02/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=05c79aee-55b5-449f-9a73-fab97cf713d8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: RedWhiteandWhole_9780063047440_5443279
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780063047440
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 02/02/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=05c79aee-55b5-449f-9a73-fab97cf713d8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: LaRocca, Rajani
      • bioText:

        Rajani LaRocca was born in India, raised in Kentucky, and now lives in Massachusetts, where she practices medicine and writes award-winning books for young readers, including the Newbery Honor-winning novel in verse, Red, White, and Whole. She's always been an omnivorous reader, and now she is an omnivorous writer of novels and picture books, fiction and nonfiction, in prose and poetry. A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, she lives outside Boston with her family. Visit her at rajanilarocca.com.

      • name: Rajani LaRocca
imprint
Quill Tree Books
publishDate
2021-02-02T05:00:00+00:00
ATOS
5.3
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Red, White, and Whole
fullDescription

Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

* Walter Award Winner * New England Book Award Winner * An NCTE Notable Verse Novel * Golden Kite Award Winner * Crystal Kite Award Winner * Goodreads Choice Nominee * A Washington Post Best Children's Book of the Year * An SLJ Best Book of the Year * A BookPage Best Book of the Year * An NYPL Best Book of the Year * A Mighty Girl's Best Book of the Year * An ILA Notable Book for a Global Society * A Bank Street Best Book of the Year *Junior Library Guild Selection * A Judy Lopez Memorial Award Honor *

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she's the only Indian American student, and home, with her family's traditions and holidays. But Reha's parents don't understand why she's conflicted—they only notice when Reha doesn't meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma. Although their names are linked—Reha means "star" and Punam means "moon"—they are a universe apart.

Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick.

Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she can't stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. She'll be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Amma's life.

From Indies Introduce author Rajani LaRocca comes a radiant story about the ties that bind and how to go on in the face of unthinkable loss. This is the perfect next read for fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại.

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
1811
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BvwAAAA25/products/05c79aee-55b5-449f-9a73-fab97cf713d8/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
05c79aee-55b5-449f-9a73-fab97cf713d8
starRating
4.5
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/05C/79A/EE/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/05C/79A/EE/{05C79AEE-55B5-449F-9A73-FAB97CF713D8}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
      • value: Poetry
publishDateText
02/02/2021
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

* Walter Award Winner * New England Book Award Winner * An NCTE Notable Verse Novel * Golden Kite Award Winner * Crystal Kite Award Winner * Goodreads Choice Nominee * A Washington Post Best Children's Book of the Year * An SLJ Best Book of the Year * A BookPage Best Book of the Year * An NYPL Best Book of the Year * A Mighty Girl's Best Book of the Year * An ILA Notable Book for a Global Society * A Bank Street Best Book of the Year *Junior Library Guild Selection * A Judy Lopez Memorial Award Honor *

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she's the only Indian American student, and home, with her family's traditions and holidays. But Reha's parents don't understand why she's conflicted—they only notice when Reha doesn't meet their strict...

sortTitle
Red White and Whole
crossRefId
5443279
awards
      • source: American Library Association
      • value: Newbery Honor Book
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
publisher
HarperCollins
More Details
Street Date:
02/02/2021
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780063047440
ASIN:
B0881SF7BX
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.3, 3 Points