The Lafayette Library is open daily. View regular hours and current COVID protocols.

--

Your account now requires a PIN at login. By default, this is the last 4 digits of your phone number and can be reset for security. If you have trouble accessing your account, call the Library at 303-661-1161.

We Are the Fire
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Feiwel & Friends 2021
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.
In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana—both taken from their homeland at a young age—only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.
Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.
When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.
Praise for We Are the Fire:

"At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous—and what it costs to be human." —Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood
"Set to fill the Ember in the Ashes-shaped void in your heart." —Culturess

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Other Editions and Formats
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sam Taylor. (2021). We Are the Fire. Feiwel & Friends.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Sam Taylor. 2021. We Are the Fire. Feiwel & Friends.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Sam Taylor, We Are the Fire. Feiwel & Friends, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sam Taylor. We Are the Fire. Feiwel & Friends, 2021.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a4fc0acb-bc4c-546c-8193-75074eeacd7a
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Dec 22, 2021 20:28:06
Date Updated:
Dec 22, 2021 20:28:06
Last Metadata Check:
Sep 25, 2022 06:25:05
Last Metadata Change:
Sep 25, 2022 06:25:05
Last Availability Check:
Sep 25, 2022 06:25:06
Last Availability Change:
Sep 03, 2022 10:03:31
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Sep 27, 2022 01:39:02

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
We Are the Fire
crossRefId
5641996
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2390-1/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2390-1/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2390-1/27F/151/2F/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2390-1/27F/151/2F/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250241412
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B08DMK592C
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250241412
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Sam Taylor
id
27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4
title
We Are the Fire
starRating
3
dateAdded
2021-12-23T01:03:00Z
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=114&titleID=5641996
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Front Range Downloadable Library (CO)
          • id: 1100

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: WeAretheFire_9781250241412_5641996
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 8328133
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250241412
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 02/16/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=27f1512f-8b4a-4cf4-81a3-2a680b773ab4&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WeAretheFire_5641996
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B08DMK592C
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 02/16/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=27f1512f-8b4a-4cf4-81a3-2a680b773ab4&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WeAretheFire_9781250241412_5641996
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781250241412
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 02/16/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=27f1512f-8b4a-4cf4-81a3-2a680b773ab4&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: War & Military
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Taylor, Sam
      • bioText: Sam Taylor grew up in Arizona's deserts and now lives among Connecticut's trees. She spends her days writing, being mom to the world's cutest kiddos, whirling through dance workouts, and baking too many cakes. She does not possess fire magic, but does have one fire-colored cat. We Are the Fire is her debut novel.
      • name: Sam Taylor
imprint
Swoon Reads
publishDate
2021-02-16T00:00:00-05:00
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
We Are the Fire
fullDescription

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.
In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana—both taken from their homeland at a young age—only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.
Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.
When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.
Praise for We Are the Fire:

"At once brutal and tender, this heart-pounding debut will make you ponder what it means to be monstrous—and what it costs to be human." —Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood
"Set to fill the Ember in the Ashes-shaped void in your heart." —Culturess

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
0
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BvwAAAA25/products/27f1512f-8b4a-4cf4-81a3-2a680b773ab4/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
27f1512f-8b4a-4cf4-81a3-2a680b773ab4
starRating
3.4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2390-1/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2390-1/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2390-1/27F/151/2F/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2390-1/27F/151/2F/{27F1512F-8B4A-4CF4-81A3-2A680B773AB4}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fantasy
      • value: Romance
      • value: Historical Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
publishDateText
02/16/2021
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor's explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

All will burn.
In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana—both taken from their homeland at a young age—only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.
Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.
When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both...

sortTitle
We Are the Fire
lexileScore
790
crossRefId
5641996
publisher
Feiwel & Friends
More Details
Street Date:
02/16/2021
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250241412
ASIN:
B08DMK592C
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
790