Once more we saw stars : a memoir
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York, New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2019.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
243 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Lafayette new nonfiction (adult)
155.937 Gre
Due Jul 6, 2019
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Boulder Main NEW Adult Non-Fiction
155.973 Greene
On Hold Shelf
Boulder Reynolds NEW Adult Nonfiction
155.973 Greene
Due Jul 14, 2019
Broomfield New Non-Fiction
155.937 Green
Due Jul 8, 2019
Longmont New Book Shelf - Nonfiction
155.937083 GRE
On Hold Shelf
Description
"A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss." --Cheryl Strayed For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief. As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Greene, J. (2019). Once more we saw stars: a memoir. First edition. New York, New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Greene, Jayson. 2019. Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir. New York, New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Greene, Jayson, Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir. New York, New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Greene, Jayson. Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir. First edition. New York, New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9f405d81-a397-29e0-f950-8c48932cd45b
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Jun 25, 2019 12:12:02 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jun 25, 2019 12:11:54 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04377cam a2200589 i 4500
001FLCBK0023714534
003CoBoFLC
00520180904121938.0
008180807s2019    nyu           000 0aeng d
010 |a 2018013866
020 |a 9781524733537 (hardcover)
020 |a 1524733539 (hardcover)
040 |a LBSOR/DLC |b eng |e rda |c LBSOR |d CoBoFLC
05000 |a BF575.G7 |b G6897 2019
08200 |a 155.9/37083 |2 23
1001 |a Greene, Jayson, |e author.
24510 |a Once more we saw stars : |b a memoir / |c Jayson Greene.
250 |a First edition.
264 1 |a New York, New York : |b Alfred A. Knopf, |c 2019.
300 |a 243 pages ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
5050 |a The accident -- The aftermath -- Kripalu -- Searching for home -- Pregnancy -- Harrison.
520 |a Two-year-old Greta Greene was sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan when a brick crumbled from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious. She is immediately rushed to the hospital. The book begins with this event, leading the reader into the unimaginable. But although it begins with the anguish Jayson and his wife Stacy confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, it quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the very midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it-- that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survivewhat seems un-survivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation - and a book that will change the way you look at the world.
500 |a "This is a Borzoi book."
60010 |a Greene, Jayson.
60010 |a Greene, Jayson |x Family.
650 0 |a Children |x Death |x Psychological aspects.
650 0 |a Bereavement |x Psychological aspects.
655 7 |a Autobiography. |2 local.
77608 |i Online version:
77608 |a Greene, Jayson, author. |t Once more we saw stars |b First edition. |d New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2019 |z 9781524733544 |w (DLC) 2018042539.
907 |a .b29001158 |b multi |c -
902 |a 190623
998 |b 14 |c 190506 |d g |e a |f - |g 0
998 |a mde2019/05/06 kr mm
998 |a lg 2019/05/13 wh md
9989 |a b2019/05/17 b014 |b cv |c md
988 |a .o16031337 |c 2 |l multi |f a |s a |x 190304 |y 190522 |z 190522 |3 e |k bmnfa |k bgnfa
988 |a .o14926052 |c 1 |l mdnna |f a |s a |x 190214 |y 190503 |z 190506 |3 w |k mdnna
988 |a .o14951356 |c 1 |l mdnna |f a |s a |x 190513 |y 190515 |z 190515 |3 w |k mdnna
988 |a .o19625017 |c 1 |l lanfa |f a |s a |x 190320 |y 190517 |z 190520 |3 - |k lanfa
988 |a .o17458717 |c 1 |l lg |f a |s a |x 190325 |y 190509 |z 190513 |3 e |k lg
988 |a .o17485502 |c 1 |l lg |f a |s a |x 190530 |y 190605 |z 190605 |3 e |k lg
945 |a 155.973 |b Greene |d 05-29-2019 13:55 |e  - - |1 06-09-2019 17:29 |g 0 |h  |i R0095512903 |j 3 |l bmnfx |o - |p $25.00 |q  |r  |s ! |t 0 |u 2 |v 0 |w 2 |x 0 |y .i44400639 |z 190517
945 |a 155.973 |b Greene |d 05-25-2019 14:38 |e 06-23-2019 12:33 |1 06-22-2019 11:19 |g 0 |h 190714 |i R0095512961 |j 3 |l bgnfx |o - |p $25.00 |q  |r  |s - |t 0 |u 2 |v 0 |w 2 |x 0 |y .i44400640 |z 190517
945 |a 155.937 |b Green |d 05-17-2019 13:46 |e 06-17-2019 14:17 |1 06-11-2019 15:12 |g 1 |h 190708 |i R0405189057 |j 2 |l mdnna |o - |p $25.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 0 |u 2 |v 0 |w 2 |x 0 |y .i44354575 |z 190503
945 |a 155.937 |b Green |k LUCKY DAY |d 05-30-2019 17:45 |e 06-19-2019 9:52 |1 06-25-2019 11:06 |g 1 |h 190716 |i R0405195723 |j 2 |l mdnna |o z |p $25.00 |q - |r n |s - |t 20 |u 3 |v 0 |w 3 |x 0 |y .i44392060 |z 190515
945 |a 155.937 |b Gre |d 05-22-2019 7:43 |e 06-15-2019 13:28 |1 06-14-2019 9:20 |g 1 |h 190706 |i 33471003992686 |j 5 |l lannx |o - |p $25.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 0 |u 2 |v 0 |w 2 |x 0 |y .i44401425 |z 190517
945 |a LUCKY DAY |d 06-06-2019 16:10 |e 06-19-2019 14:51 |1 06-19-2019 10:34 |g 0 |h 190710 |i 33060011448078 |j 4 |l lglda |o - |p $25.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 0 |u 2 |v 0 |w 2 |x 0 |y .i44459063 |z 190605
945 |a 155.937083 GRE |d 06-01-2019 16:53 |e  - - |1 06-15-2019 11:05 |g 1 |h  |i 33060011432502 |j 4 |l lgnfx |m IR00:05-27-19 requested by .p12056261@9cubp for pickup at "My Campus Box (UCB only)" |o - |p $25.00 |q - |r - |s ! |t 0 |u 2 |v 0 |w 2 |x 0 |y .i44385158 |z 190513
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781524733537 (hardcover), 1524733539 (hardcover)

Notes

General Note
"This is a Borzoi book."
Description
Two-year-old Greta Greene was sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan when a brick crumbled from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious. She is immediately rushed to the hospital. The book begins with this event, leading the reader into the unimaginable. But although it begins with the anguish Jayson and his wife Stacy confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, it quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the very midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it-- that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survivewhat seems un-survivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation - and a book that will change the way you look at the world.